Women in Leadership
Virtual Event:
Achieve your next steps

Thursday 16th February 2023
11:00-13:00 GMT / 12:00-14:00 CET

Welcome To Women In Leadership: Achieving your next steps

What's the right way to identify role models to help shape your career and provide inspiration? What practical steps can you take to advance your career to the next stage? And how can you leverage your network to access support when you need it, and on your terms?

We're not promising we can solve all of these, but we can share important tips and tricks that will make a difference.

Women in Leadership is a collaboration between four global business schools: Cranfield School of Management (United Kingdom), Rotterdam School of Management Erasmus University (Netherlands). ESMT Berlin (Germany), and Imperial College Business School (United Kingdom).

JOIN THE EVENT LIVE ON THURSDAY 16TH FEBRUARY 2023 AT 11:00-13:00 GMT / 12:00-14:00 CET

Once you have registered, access to the live stream will be available here on the day of the event. You will also receive an email with a personalised link to the live stream, the day before the event.

Agenda

SESSION TOPIC Speaker
11:00 GMT / 12:00 CET
Introductions and welcome
Hetty Brand-Boswijk, Director of Coaching | Lead Coach Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
11:10 GMT / 12:10 CET
Understand and leverage your network

Networks are a powerful tool to advance your career and there is no one-size-fits-all model, in fact women and men approach this in very different ways.

Join Prof Gianluca Carnabuci as he takes you on a journey to understand and leverage your own network in a way that works for you.

Gianluca Carnabuci is a Professor of Organizational Behavior at ESMT Berlin, the Director of Research, and holder of the Ingrid and Manfred Gentz Chair in Business and Society
11:35 GMT / 12:35 CET
Broadening the 'Tightrope': strategies for being respected AND liked
  • What is the 'tightrope' and how does it manifest itself
  • How does the tightrope bias lead to undesired outcomes for organisations as well as for the women working in them?
  • What does research tell us about how to approach communication and negotiation to avoid the tightrope?
  • How can you 'practice' creating a broader way of communicating and negotiation?
Dorothy Grandia, Associate director of programming at Erasmus Center for Women & Organisations Rotterdam School of Management
12:00-12:05 GMT / 13:00-13:05 CET
Break
12:05 GMT / 13:05 CET
Practical steps to take your career to the next stage

Talking about your next career move may be easy, but how can you take practical steps towards achieving it? Whether you're looking to change your job role, location or sector, this session will provide you with tangible steps to help you:

  • Find your passion
  • Identify your strengths
  • Understand and clarify your career goals
Lisa Umenyiora, is Executive Director of Careers and Student Life at Imperial College Business School
12:30 GMT / 13:30 CET
The importance of role models
  • The importance of role models, and how to choose them
  • The right role models for your career path
  • Building your own internal board of directors
  • Real stories featuring diverse alumni
Professor Sue Vinnicombe CBE, & Dr Deirdre Anderson
12:55 GMT / 13:55 CET
Closing remarks
Hetty Brand-Boswijk

SPEAKERS

Hetty Brand-Boswijk
Speaker bio
Professor Sue Vinnicombe CBE
Speaker bio
Dr Deirdre Anderson
Speaker bio
Prof. Gianluca Carnabuci
Speaker bio
Dorothy Grandia
Speaker bio
Lisa Umenyiora
Speaker bio

More speakers to be announced soon.

Form unable to load...

Please refresh the page to view the form. If you are having trouble registering, please email us on events-team@wilevents.com.

Registration

Valid first name is required.
Valid last name is required.
Please select an option.
Please enter a valid email address.
Please select an option.
Please select an option.
Please select an option.
Please select an option.

By registering for this event, you consent for your contact information to be shared with all participating schools their respective privacy policies can be found here Cranfield School of Management, Imperial College Business School, Rotterdam School of Management and The European School of Management and Technology

Please make sure you have completed all required fields.